The Jefferson Parents & Teachers Association (PTA) is an organization for our community run by our community. As an organization, PTA activities are coordinated largely by Jefferson parents who decide to help the school by volunteering their time and energy to serve on the PTA executive board. The PTA has as its objectives:

 

  • To provide support and resources to the school for the benefit and educational growth of the children,
  • To develop a cooperative working relationship between the parents and staff of our school,
  • To develop parent leadership and build capacity for greater involvement,
  • To foster and encourage parent participation on all levels, and
  • To provide opportunities and training for parents to participate in school governance and decision-making.

 

The PTA is led by an executive board, which provides families with the leadership necessary to be active and effective partners with the school. It disseminates information, raises issues and concerns, anchors the school in the community, and represents parent interests. Executive board positions are the only PTA roles that involve elections.  Parents who would like to volunteer in this way can nominate themselves when the elections happen in the spring of each year.

 

While the PTA is run by the executive board, every parent is welcome to attend and participate fully in virtually all executive board meetings, and nearly every action by the PTA executive board involves consultation and information sharing with parents and guardians at the PTA general membership meetings.  We want to make sure there are ample ways for every parent to discuss things with the board members and help collaborate on big decisions.

 

All PTA meetings are open to the public and parents are encouraged to attend. For a schedule of this year’s meetings please check our online calendar.



2017 - 2018 Executive Board Members:

 

President

Amy Straub president@jefferson-pta.org

 

Vice President

Mindy Sinyak vicepresident@jefferson-pta.org

 

Treasurer

Rhonda Fitzgibbons treasurer@jefferson-pta.org

 

Recording Secretary

Sunita Submaranian recording-secretary@jefferson-pta.org

 

Corresponding Secretary

Michele Richman corresponding-secretary@jefferson-pta.org

 

Vice President of Communications

Cindy Manalo Communications@jefferson-pta.org

 

Co-Vice Presidents of Fundraising

Jennifer Pisani fundraising@jefferson-pta.org

Chris Hübschmann fundraising@jefferson-pta.org

 

Co-Vice Presidents of Events

Cathy Clammer events@jefferson-pta.org

Suzanne Rowland events@jefferson-pta.org

 

Co-Vice Presidents of Cultural Arts

Laura Brendan cultural-arts@jefferson-pta.org

Toshie Davis cultural-arts@jefferson-pta.org

 

Vice President of Special Events

Sheri McKinstrie specialevents@jefferson-pta.org

 

Vice President of 5th Grade Projects

Laura Chang 5thgradeprojects@jefferson-pta.org

 

Vice President, Website

Bernie Hackler technology@jefferson-pta.org

 

Vice President, Diversity

Diego Ribadeneira diversity@jefferson-pta.org

 

REGISTER NOW

Welcome to the Jefferson PTA site.  We have so many great things to share.  Please sign up to view:

 

- Upcoming calendar events

- Online directory

- School Store

- Newsletter subscriptions

- Volunteer Opportunities

- And much, much more!