PTA INFO & BOARD MEMBERS

 

 

About the Parent Teachers Association (PTA)

The Jefferson Elementary School Parents & Teachers Association (PTA) is an organization for our community run by our community. As an organization, PTA activities are coordinated largely by Jefferson parents who decide to help the school by volunteering their time and energy to serve on the PTA executive board. The PTA has as its objectives: 

  • To provide support and resources to the school for the benefit and educational growth of the children,
  • To develop a cooperative working relationship between the parents and staff of our school,
  • To develop parent leadership and build capacity for greater involvement,
  • To foster and encourage parent participation on all levels, and
  • To provide opportunities and training for parents to participate in school governance and decision-making.

The PTA is led by an Executive Board, which provides families with the leadership necessary to be active and effective partners with the school. It disseminates information, raises issues and concerns, anchors the school in the community, and represents parent interests. Executive board positions are the only PTA roles that involve elections. Parents who would like to volunteer in this way can nominate themselves when the elections happen in the spring of each year.

Here are the detailed Job Descriptions of each PTA Board role.

 

Interested in being involved in our school? There are many opportunities for parents and community members to get involved. You can find out more here.

While the PTA is run by the executive board, every parent is welcome to attend and participate fully in virtually all executive board meetings, and nearly every action by the PTA executive board involves consultation and information sharing with parents and guardians at the PTA general membership meetings. We want to make sure there are ample ways for every parent to discuss things with the board members and help collaborate on big decisions. 

All PTA meetings are open to the public and parents are encouraged to attend. For a schedule of this year’s meetings please check our online calendar.

 

Welcome to the incoming Executive Board Members for SY 2020-2021!

 

President | Erika Malgieri

president@jefferson-pta.org

 

Vice President | Open

vicepresident@jefferson-pta.org

 

Treasurer | Ildi Conrad

treasurer@jefferson-pta.org

 

Secretary | Jennifer Attock

secretary@jefferson-pta.org 

  

VP of Communications | Open

communications@jefferson-pta.org 

 

VP of Technology | Mike Trzcianowski

technology@jefferson-pta.org

 

VP of Cultural Arts | Cat Starmer 

cultural-arts@jefferson-pta.org 

 

VP of Events | Ani Levy 

events@jefferson-pta.org 

 

VP of Fundraising | Open

fundraising@jefferson-pta.org 

 

VP of Volunteers | Sunita Subramanian

volunteers@jefferson-pta.org 

 

VP of Diversity & Special Ed | Nicole Josey

diversity@jefferson-pta.org 

 

Marshall/Jefferson Liaison | Suzanne Lauchaire

mjliaison@jefferson-pta.org

 

VP of 5th Grade Projects | Leslie Kerner & Jackie Spoerel 

5thgradeprojects@jefferson-pta.org

 

VP of Special Projects | Corie Robie

specialevents@jefferson-pta.org

 

 

REGISTER NOW

Welcome to the Jefferson PTA site.  We have so many great things to share.  Please sign up to view:

 

- Upcoming calendar events

- Online directory

- School Store

- Newsletter subscriptions

- Volunteer Opportunities

- And much, much more!